Home » Colombia exempts Haiti, Afghanistan, Iran and 39 other countries from transit visas at its airports
Afghanistan Colombia News Travel

Colombia exempts Haiti, Afghanistan, Iran and 39 other countries from transit visas at its airports

In order to strengthen diplomatic relations with other countries, especially those on the African continent and other regions that are not traditionally considered by Colombia as strategic allies, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs is developing a document to exempt citizens of 41 territories around the world, including Haitians, from the requirement of a V-type visa for airport transit.

“The National Government considers it appropriate to exempt nationals of the States or Territories listed in Article 8 of Resolution 5488 of July 22, 2022 from the Type V visa requirement for airport transit in order to strengthen the bonds of friendship”, indicates the document to which Blue Radio has had access and to which only the signature of Minister Álvaro Leyva remains to be affixed.

”  Colombia, in the exercise of its sovereignty, taking into account circumstances of interest to the Colombian State or reciprocity, may establish the countries whose nationals do or do not need visas to enter the national territory ,” the document says.

“Holders of passports from the following States or territories are not subject to the visa requirement for direct airport transit through one of the international airports of the national territory to a third State; they can stay in the airport transit area for a maximum of 24 hours. Arrival and stay in international transit areas are not considered entry into the national territory in migratory terms ,” explains the document shared by the aforementioned media.

The list of 42 countries includes Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Bangladesh, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Ivory Coast, Cuba, Egypt, Ethiopia , l Eritrea, Gambia, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Uzbekistan, Yemen, Haiti, Iraq, Iran, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Pakistan , Palestine , Syria and Sudan.

Source : Rezo Nodwes